top of page
  • Writer's pictureKara C White

The TBR Stack: February 2020

Updated: Apr 28, 2021

We've had a fair number of snowy days in my area this winter. I wish I could tell you this means I've had extra time to curl up with a blanket, coffee, and a book, but alas, life obligations continue, even in the snow.


I have made progress on my TBR stack, finishing off The Water Dancer and Olive Kitteridge. These are very different novels to say the least, but I can recommend both of them. The Water Dancer was beautiful and surprising. I think what I enjoyed the most is that the main character relates his life story as a telling of past events on which he has had time to reflect. It's poignant to read how and why he's made peace with some of his own decisions and the decisions of others. Olive Kitteridge is a collection of somewhat related tales. Some are touching, many tinged with sadness, and all are filled with memorable characters. My biggest takeaway: we all carry at least some secrets, some we don't even want to tell ourselves.


As the calendar flipped from January to February, I started The Read-Aloud Handbook by Jim Trelease. It's clearly filled with a wealth of information, research, and advice. I'm looking forward to diving deeper into what it has to offer.



Also on my mind for February, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou. I have actually read this book before. I rarely read a book more than once. Many people have favorites they turn to again and again, but I've always felt that once I've enjoyed a book, I need to move on. However, I'm making an exception for this classic memoir. When I first turned its pages, I was a young woman. I'm confident that returning to Angelou's work now, years later, my broader life experiences will enrich my understanding of her story.


Finally, I'm hoping to make quick work of The Friday Night Knitting Club by Kate Jacobs. My cousin read this novel about female friendship last summer and passed it along to me. The 2006 book is the first of a three-part series. It promises to be a good story, and perhaps it will inspire me to pick up my long-neglected knitting needles once again.


Finishing off these titles in February will keep me well on pace toward meeting my reading goals (read more about them here). Later this month, I'll share with you my personal reading journal and how I use it to track my progress and much more. Until then, happy reading!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page